Be Strong (Part 2)

I called my doctors on Monday, and they scheduled me in for the next day. I drove Parker crazy all weekend long that he ended up yelling at me—which made me yell. A typical day for the two of us, oddly enough. When we tossed our lovely insults to each other we ended up laughing and holding each other in our arms. We were both stressed, and when we laughed, we laughed for a while. Parker tried to assure me that nothing was wrong, but I knew he was putting that brave face up. It’s what he did when he was scared, and if he was scared—I was terrified. 

Parker woke me up in the morning just hours before my appointment. He made breakfast for me, which never happens. (Although, he forgot I couldn’t eat until after my appointment.) Okay, he wasn’t scared—he was just as terrified. He sat at the edge of the bed next to me and petted my hair, moving it out of my face. “Morning, beautiful,” he said with his quit witted charm that I loved.

“That wicked tongue doesn’t fool me, Park.”

He chuckled, “Nothing gets past my Hana. You want me to go with you today?”

I thought about it. The office told me that the results of the tests I was having today would take a few days to a couple of weeks. I wanted Parker to be there for the results, but the tests? Did I need him? He’d be forced to wait in the waiting room—and he doesn’t know how to wait. Just waiting for Jamie to get out of his surgery after the accident bout drove me mad with him and Kaliq pacing around the waiting room, and not sitting down. I shook my head no at Parker. I didn’t need him there.

“You sure? I can take the day off.”

“I’m just having a series of tests. You’ll have to wait in the waiting room, and we both know you don’t like waiting.”

“Don’t care if I have to sit all day.”

“People will stare at you.”

“They stare at me everywhere. Look, if you don’t want me to go, I’ll stay and try to work. Doubt I’ll be able to. I’ll probably go to the gym and run. Maybe box.”

I laughed this time, that sounds more like my Parker. “You need someone or something to beat up, don’t you?”

“You know me well to well, Moneypenny. Okay, I’ll drop you off at the doctors and head to the gym to workout. You’ll call me as soon as you’re done.”

“Sounds like a plan.”


“Thank you Doctor,” I said on the phone. “We’ll be there.”

Parker’s leg was shaking while he sat. The tapping noise caused by his shoe was distracting as I listened to my doctor and said goodbye to him. Parker stopped his foot when I hung up. “Well?”

“He wants to see us.”

Parker squeezed his eye shut, and a small tear fell. “Okay. Okay.”

“Don’t.” I shook my head and bent down to kiss his tear away. “We still don’t know anything, Park.”

He pulled me closer to him and I ended up in his lap, “You’re right. We don’t know.” He kissed me slowly. Even after twenty-five years of being together, his kisses still affected me. My heart fluttered as he slipped his tongue in my mouth. I forgot the time, worries, everything that wasn’t Parker when he kissed me. The door to the garage opened, and Kaliq groaned. Parker broke the kiss.

“I thought having two horny teens hiding out was bad enough,” he said. “I forgot I have the horniest parents in the world. Don’t you two ever mind?”

“Nope,” Parker said without losing eye contact with me. “Your mother and I are just happy the way things are, right Moneypenny?”

“Right, Delta Nine.”

“Ooh, how I love when you call me that, Miss Moneypenny.”

I giggled, and without even a glance to Kaliq, he picked me up and headed for the stairs. “We’ll try to keep it down, but it might be a good idea to turn on some music.” I laughed more. Parker may have a wicked tongue, but he also knew how to be crude toward everyone else—especially to Kaliq and Casey.

“Oh my—I hate you two!” Kaliq yelled up the stairs.

That night Parker flung the sheets off of both of us. Neither of us slept very well. We both tossed and turned. Parker ran to the restroom, and I heard him puking. I closed my eyes and cried. Both of us were nervous, and anxious for the news. I sat up as Parker returned. “Okay?” I asked.

“No. You?”

I shook my head, no. “I need a drink. Please tell me you have something stronger than water.”

Parker smirked, “Give me a few minutes, and I might…just might know where a bottle of vodka is.”

I shook my head as he headed for the stairs. It was a game. I knew he had a secret stash, and a secret-secret stash. I knew where most of the bottles were hidden around the house. Sometimes I would dump them without him knowing, other times I would yell at him and force him to dump the bottle out. It really depended on my mood. Tonight, however, I wanted to drink with him. I’ve never been a huge drinker, but tonight was an exception.

Parker returned with a bottle of his most expensive vodkas. He loved buying different ones, and I knew he preferred Grey Goose and Sky Vodka over most brands. This one was a Grey Goose brand. He opened the bottle and poured both of us a shot. I climbed out of bed and headed to the table where he sat down the bottle and my shot glass. He lifted his, “Here’s to hoping for a good tomorrow.” He clinked my glass, and we both did the shot. It burned—I really wasn’t a vodka drinker.

I shook my head, “How do you drink this stuff?”

“Usually, I sip it, but we both needed that. Want a glass?”

“Please.” We sat at the table in silence sipping the clear drink. After a glass I was tipsy. He helped me to bed. “You coming to bed?” I asked.

“Soon. I’m going to have another glass to calm my nerves and I’ll join you.”

“Dump the rest when you’re done.”

He chuckled in my ear and kissed me. “Not a chance,” he said. I was too tired to fight him.

In the morning we drove to the doctors. I sat there with my hands crumpling up the bottom of my shirt. I didn’t like not knowing what was wrong with me. I couldn’t even eat that morning I felt too nervous. Parker had a quick shot of Vodka before we left to calm himself. I didn’t say anything for once. I understood how he was feeling.

I placed my feet on the dash, and held my knees. I really didn’t like this.

“You’ll be okay,” Parker whispered at the light down the street from the hospital.

“You don’t know that.”

His adam’s apple bobbed. “You have to be okay.”

We arrived at the hospital, and he parked. Before we went inside he stopped me. There was fear in his eye, and I knew he was barely holding on to that brave exterior. “You need to be okay, Hana. I can’t—I…” I wrapped him in my arms as he broke down. “Jesus, Hana, I can’t lose you again.”

“I know.”

He held me tight before backing away. I wiped his tears off of his right cheek. “Okay. We go in. We find out. We deal.” He said.

“Be strong.” I whispered.

“Oh, I’m trying.” He took my right hand in his left. I noticed that he did that more and more. Touch was becoming an important thing to him the last week. He kissed the top of my hand and said, “Okay, let’s go get this over with.”

About orangeplumbob

When I'm not blogging, I'm often reading, writing, or playing video games. I am obsessed with Doctor Who, Supernatural, Fox's Lucifer, and ruining my Sims' lives.
This entry was posted in Extras, Specials. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Be Strong (Part 2)

  1. jolvsbooks says:

    This is one sim couple that I really don’t want to be parted and I’m almost dreading the next update as I don’t want my suspicions to be confirmed. The writing is so good I really felt like I was right there with them.

    • Thank you for the compliment. My writing is growing stronger now that I have finished a novel and am trying to get it published. So, I am really glad that you can feel yourself right in the story.

  2. I love these two so much! This chapter made me go a little teary-eyed.

    Beautiful writing. I’m still holding out hope that Hana will be okay, but I admit, I’m having a tough time believing myself now. I just don’t want to see Parker sad and I REALLY don’t want Hana to die.

  3. Nichola says:

    You’re writing this so well! I can’t see them apart again, I just can’t!

Leave a Reply

